Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is a really nice and refreshing teaser video. What I liked is that the group doesn’t at least try to be hip-hop unlike most groups nowadays. They’re more like somewhere in between Boyfriend and Beast (I actually don’t like mentioning senior and more famous groups when doing comparisons because people would usually say: “Hell no, they’re different from *toot*; they have no similarities in concept with *toot*”. It’s just that these two are what came to my mind), upbeat with a mixture of the sweetness of spring.

I did a little research on the group and apparently they’re only about to debut this June 26. (Does this mean I’m going to have to add another rookie group on my list of groups to follow? Let’s just see if they’re up for it). HALO is a six-member group which, according to an allkpop article, aims to be Korea’s One Direction. *sigh* That’s not really promising for me because I don’t want them to be a rip-off. Wanting to be Korea’s One Direction isn’t a really good strategy because it’s prone to fanwars and since 1D is more well-known out of the two, HALO might get kicked to the dust. As far as I can tell from the teaser, though, they still have their own sense of identity and you’d still call them KPOP.

Like I said, they remind me of Beast. Judging from my research, the guy in blonde named Dino (I find him hot, by the way) is the main vocal (so I’m guessing he’s the one I kept hearing throughout the whole video?) and sounds pretty much like a softer version of Yoseob. The vocal line’s blending of falsetto is pretty good and cool to the ears but I hope I’d see a much more powerful side to them in the future (not just vocally, though. I didn’t get the chance to hear the rapp *if there is one* in the teaser video).

The guy in white, Ooon, looks like Kai in certain angles (and they’re both smooth dancers, too). Visually, Dino and Jaeyong (he should just keep on smiling because he’s ADORABLE in this video) both grabbed my attention while I couldn’t tell the difference between Inhaeng and Yoondong (the maknae’s really cute and I can’t believe that he’s actually older than me. I really thought I was going to be a noona) at first. Heecheon doesn’t really look like B1A4’s Jinyoung but they both give of this almost identical vibe.

I hope all goes well with their career and that they’d last long. Allkpop’s article about them isn’t really a good first step. (Trust me, wanting to be a version of someone else is a big NO NO if you want your career to come bursting with flowers)